City Elections

The City Council - Number, Selection & Term

The legislative and governing body, the City Council of Rockport, consists of a Mayor and four Council Members.

  • The Mayor is elected at large. One Council Member is elected from each of four Wards. All elected officials serve two-year terms.
  • Members of the City Council, other than the Mayor, are elected under the Ward System, the boundaries which are defined by ordinance and amended as population changes warrant.
  • Council Members from Wards 1 and 3 are elected in odd years and the Mayor and Council Members from Wards 2 and 4 in even years.
  • No person shall serve more than ten consecutive years on the City Council.
  • Council Members must reside in the Ward they represent while in office.